What is alcohol made of?

Alcohol is a drink that contains ethanol, which is produced by the fermentation of grains, fruits, or other sources of sugar. Grain alcohol, a neutral spirit, can be made from corn, rye, wheat, grapes, grains, sugarcane, tubers, and beets.