How long does it take to get butter to room temperature?

It depends if the butter is refrigerated or frozen. Refrigerated butter could take about 30 minutes. You could speed it up by cutting it in half, lengthwise. If it's frozen, it could take about 60 minutes, but wait 30 minutes to cut it in half, or pieces will splinter off.