Why do they call it a bonfire?

Bonfire comes from a Middle English word banefire which means a fire for burning bones, 'bane' being an old word for 'bone'. As the name suggests, bonfires were originally used for burning bones, and also on occasion for burning people convicted of heresy as well as prohibited items, including books

---

A 'bonfire' is a large community fire of celebration. People revel around a campfire as it grows, with the crowd. the fire gets louder and so do the people. It's grand it's good, a bonfire!