What is operation starfish?

In 1962 the U.S. conducted the Starfish Prime Nuclear Test - one of five aimed at testing the effects of nuclear weapons at high altitudes / lower outer space. The explosion took place 400 km above the Johnson Atoll in the Pacific Ocean