How long does it take for your food to digest?

After you eat, it takes about 6 to 8 hours for food to pass through your stomach and small intestine. Food then enters your large intestine for further digestion, absorption of water and, finally, elimination of undigested food. It takes about 36 hours for food to move through the entire colon