What does it mean when you dream about snakes?

According to professional dream analyst and author Lauri Quinn Loewenberg, snakes — a common dream archetype — typically represent a person in the dreamer's life who exhibits low, dirty, toxic, or poisonous behavior. However, they can also represent something related to health or healing.