What is a gems ability to split light into colors?

The term fire refers to the ability of a gem to split light into the colors of the spectrum. The technical term used in gemology for fire is dispersion. The phenomenon of dispersion occurs when different frequencies of light are refracted to a different degree by the refracting medium.