When was segregation ended?

In 1964, President Lyndon B. Johnson signed the Civil Rights Act, which legally ended the segregation that had been institutionalized by the enacted Jim Crow laws and the. And in 1965, the Voting Rights Act halted efforts by the southern Democrats to keep minorities from voting.