Why do people say bless you when someone sneezes?

Good manners dictate you should say "bless you" after someone sneezes. Another theory originated in Rome during the bubonic plague. Sneezing was a main symptom, and Pope Gregory I suggested a tiny prayer, "God bless you" after a sneeze to protect the person from death.