What's a medium saucepan?

A medium saucepan is typically 2 quarts. Besides sauces, as the name suggests, you can use this size for small servings of soup, batches of oatmeal, rice or the popular quick meal mac and cheese! Since the base is small and the walls are high, it isn't the best option to use for evenly cooking meats