How do you do a lower case s. in cursive?

Draw a diagonal, somewhat curved line reaching toward the top of the pair of lines. Draw a little loop that will take your pen direction back toward the bottom of the page. Cross back over the first line while drawing a soft little semi-circle—here you can see the shape of a print s.