What is a pelvis?

The pelvis, also called bony pelvis or pelvic girdle, in human anatomy is a basin-shaped complex of bones that connects the trunk and the legs, supports and balances the trunk, and contains and supports the intestines, the urinary bladder, and the internal sex organs.