How many vertebrae are in the lumbar spine?

The average person is born with 33 vertabrae connected via joints called facets. Through normal growth and development a number of these vertebrae at the bottom of the spine fuse together leaving a total of 24. The average person has 7 cervical, 12 thoracic , and 5 lumbar vertebrae.