What artist cut his own ear off?

According to History.com, on December 23, 1888, Vincent Van Gogh cut off part of his left ear in a fit of dementia after an argument with fellow artist, Paul Gauguin. He later documented the event in a painting titled Self-Portrait with Bandaged Ear.