What does five h. tp do?

5-hydroxytryptophan (5-HTP) is a chemical that the body makes from tryptophan, an essential amino acid. The body then converts 5-HTP into serotonin, a neurotransmitter that relays signals between brain cells. Serotonin has many functions including regulating mood, sleep, appetite, and behaviour.