What is this word m. o. n. o. t. o. n. o. u. s.?

Monotonous, spelled M-O-T-O-N-O-U-S, literally describes something as being without variation in tone or pitch. It's more often used to describe something has being dull, boring, and tedious, mostly because of a lack of variety.