How do you catch a smallmouth bass?

One of the best way to catch smallmouth bass is using crayfishes as bait. Use a single barbed hook attached directly to your line. The hook is inserted at the end of the tail from underneath the crayfish and come out from underneath between the tail and the abdomen. This mimic the natural movement.