What is charcoal toothpaste?

According to the Canadian Dental Association, activated charcoal "is abrasive and will remove surface stains from teeth, thereby allowing the natural colour of the tooth to shine through." Charcoal toothpaste is advertised as a whitening agent that can remove particles from the teeth