What is the avatar cycle?

The Avatar cycle refers to the cycle of rebirth of the Avatar, a special individual who can bend all four elements and who is bonded with Raava, the light spirit. The avatar is born in the fire nation, the air nomads, the earth kingdom, and the water tribes in that order.