Where is siri from?

It was co-founded by Dag Kittlaus, Tom Gruber, and UCLA alumnus Adam Cheyer. Kittlaus named Siri after a co-worker in Norway, and it means "beautiful woman who leads you to victory" in Norwegian. Siri's speech recognition engine was provided by Nuance Communications, a speech technology company.