What was the name of the first artificial satellite launched into space?

Sputnik Both the U.S. and Soviet Union announced that their participation would include launching satellites to orbit the Earth. Even with the advance declaration, many Americans were stunned when the Soviets launched the world's first satellite, Sputnik, on Oct. 4, 1957.

---

Sputnik 1