How do you know if a pomelo is ripe?

It can be hard to tell if a pomelo is ripe. Choose one whose color ranges from pale yellow to bright yellow. The rind should be shiny and seem thin. If the skin is dull, the fruit is not ripe. Smell the fruit to check for ripeness. It should give off a floral scent or may smell of freshly mown lawn.

---

What is a pomelo?