Do squirrels have good hearing?

There are very few studies on the hearing thresholds of squirrels, although several authors have commented upon how these animals seem sensitive to even relatively quiet disturbance. Squirrels hear over a range that is roughly 2.5 times greater than ours, but shifted towards higher frequencies.