Is washington d. c. in the state of virginia?

Washington D.C. is not located in any of the 50 US states. It is located in the District of Columbia, which is what D.C. stands for. The District of Columbia is our nation's capital. Congress established the federal district from land belonging to the states of Maryland and Virginia in 1790