Why do dalmatians have spots?

The Dalmatian has spots because humans decided he should. Selective breeding can produce a dog that looks like anything from a hairless rat to a lumbering lion. Someone in Croatia decided that white dogs sprinkled with round black spots would be cool and set about creating them.

---

Because stripes were already taken by the tiger