How do earth worms procreate?

Earthworms are hermaphrodites, so individuals have both female & male organs. They mate by one aligning itself in the opposite direction of another at their gonadal openings & exchange sperm. Each worm will form an egg cocoon in its clitellum, create a slime tube & put the egg into the soil.