What's the difference between brown sugar and dark brown sugar?

The amount of molasses is what distinguishes light brown (less molasses) from dark brown (more). Dark brown sugar actually contains nearly twice as much molasses as light (6.5% as compared to 3.5%), which gives it a richer caramel flavor.