What does it mean when garlic is green?

If the garlic is not ripe and dry fully, it can get converted into green color in the presence of sunlight. This happens because of the presence of chlorophyll compound.

---

Green garlic has not ripened in the ground before it was picked. This happens quite often with produce that has a very short shelf life. Very delicate produce like bananas are picked early so that they can ripen in transit.