What does it mean to dig a pony?

Dig a Pony is a song by The Beatles that John Lennon wrote about a lady who we would assume it to be his wife Yoko Ono but John never mentioned her name in the song at all. Now since John is dead we will never know truly who this song was for. Just like in the song You're So Vain by Carly Simon.