What was the abolitionist movement?

The abolitionist movement was an organized effort to end the practice of slavery in the United States

---

Abolitionism, or the abolitionist movement, was the movement to end slavery. In Western Europe and the Americas, abolitionism was a historic movement that sought to end the Atlantic slave trade and liberate the enslaved people.