What does c. h. i. mean?

In traditional Chinese culture, qi, also ki or ch'i is believed to be a vital force forming part of any living entity. Literally meaning "vapor", "air", or "breath", the word qi is often translated as "vital energy", "vital force", "material energy", or simply as "energy".