What's in electroencephalogram?

An electroencephalogram (EEG) is a medical test that measures electrical activity in the brain using small electrodes attached to the scalp. Brain cells communicate using electrical impulses and are active at all times, even while asleep. Such activity shows up as wavy lines on an EEG recording.