Do horseflies bite?

Yes, they bite. Aside from the momentary pain, horse fly bites generally aren't harmful to humans. These bites are usually only a problem for horses. This is because horse flies carry equine infectious anemia, also known as swamp fever.

---

The female horsefly bites to draw blood as she needs protein to grow her eggs.