What does newsom mean?

The origins of the Newsome name come from when the Anglo-Saxon tribes ruled over Britain. The name Newsome was originally derived from a family having lived in one of the various places called Newsham, Newsam, or Newsholme. These names are common in the north of England and all mean at the new house