How long do you have to go to school to be a lawyer?

To practice law in Alberta, lawyers must have completed 3 stages of training requiring a total of 5 to 7 yrs of post-secondary study plus 1 year of apprenticeship. U of Alberta Combined Juris Doctor/ Master of Business Admin- Law. Doctor of Philosophy - Law. Juris Doctor. Master of Laws - Law.