When can a baby start eating solids?

Breast milk or formula is the only food your newborn needs. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends exclusive breast-feeding for the first six months after birth. But by ages 4 months to 6 months, babies are ready to begin eating solid foods as a complement to breast-feeding or formula-feeding