What happens if two atoms touch?

There are 3 possible meanings of touch at the atomic level: 1) 2 objects influence each other, 2) 2 objects influence each other significantly, or 3) 2 objects reside in the same location. Atoms never touch in the everyday sense of the word for the simple reason that they don't have hard boundaries.