How do you explain pathetic?

Pathetic means sad to look at ,as a person or situation may appear so negative that you feel bad about it from some perspective,ie.The man looked pathetic,sitting alone on the side of the road or pathetic can mean,lacking in substance,ie.The work they did on the job was so bad it was pathetic.