Can lava melt gold?

Yes, gold melts at 1,948 degrees F while lava reaches temperatures over 2,000 degrees. As a side note, the One Ring may be golden in color but can only be melted in the fires of Mt. Doom whose lava temperature must be considerably higher than normal lava.