When was tony blair elected prime minister?

Tony Blair, leader of the Labour party, was elected on May 1st, 1997, as the new Prime Minister for the United Kingdom. He defeated the governing Conservative Party led by Prime Minister John Major and achieved a 179 seat majority. He served in this role until resignation on 27th June 2007.