How do you know what a pomegranate is ripe?

According to the Pomegranate Council, the best way to tell if a pomegranate is ripe is to hold it. Quote, A good, ripe pomegranate should feel heavy, as if it’s very full of juice, and the skin should be firm and taut. The Los Angeles Times says ripe pomegranates should feel heavy for their size.