How do you tell how old a turtle is?

To tell how old a turtle is, After its death, the age can be determined by a technique called “skeletochronology”, whereby the humerus (arm bone) is examined. These bones reveal growth rings that allow the turtle's age to be calculated, much like we can calculate the age of a tree.