What is pokemon based on?

The Pokémon franchise was based on a video game called Pocket Monsters: Red and Green. From the original hand held Game-Boy system. Designed by Game Freak and published by Nintendo in February 1996. Pokémon soon became a media mixed franchise adapted into various different media.