How do you enchant in minecraft?

In Minecraft, there are 3 ways to enchant. Go to an Enchanting Table & exchange XP + Lapis Lazuli gems for the enchant. On an anvil, combine an enchanting book + XP to enchant the item. On an anvil, combine 2 enchanted objects.