What does defcon five mean?

The defense readiness condition (DEFCON) is an alert state used by the United States Armed Forces. It increases in severity from DEFCON 5 the least severe to DEFCON 1 the most severe to match varying military situations, with DEFCON 1 signalling the outbreak of nuclear warfare.