Who was louis real?

Louis Riel was a founder of the province of Manitoba, and a political leader of the Métis people. He led two resistance movements against the Government of Canada. Riel sought to defend Métis rights and identity as the Northwest Territories came progressively under the Canadian sphere of influence.