What makes vinegar?

Distilled white vinegar is made by feeding oxygen to a vodka-like grain alcohol, causing bacteria to grow and acetic acid to form. It's those acids that give vinegar its sour taste. Vinegar can be made from any alcohol—wine, cider, beer.