How long did world war two last?

World War Two lasted 6 years and a day, from September 1, 1939, with Hitler's invasion of Poland, until September 2, 1945, when Japan formally surrendered to the United States, shortly after the US dropped atomic bombs on the cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.