Why do people wear dreadlocks?

Today, Dreadlocks signify spiritual intent, natural and supernatural powers, and are a statement of non-violent non-conformity, communalism and socialistic values, and solidarity with less fortunate minorities. Dreadlocks can be a way to hold onto good spiritual energy and the use of chakras.