When was the game truth or dare invented?

Versions of Truth or dare have existed for hundreds of years. One version “questions and commands” was documented as a Christmas game as early as 1712. The ancient Greeks played another version called basilinda in which a “king” who was chosen by dice roll would tell others what to do.